Content Roundup for April 2012: Flowering

April is the start of skeptic event season in the US, so there was a bit of activity around that. In social media, a tweet of mine about American Airlines quickly became my second most retweeted item ever, thanks as usual to the Bad Astronomer. Also on Twitter, I picked a bit of a fight with some atheists, which resulted in lots of page views here.

Anyway, if you were busy during April and missed some of the action, here’s a way to catch up. Herein are links to the content I’ve been involved with in the last month. It includes this blog as well as the material I post on other blogs, my podcasting activities, my best posts on Twitter as well as key shout-outs or mentions elsewhere.

I’m also trying to document on a monthly basis what my contributions are to several skeptic-relevant crowdsourcing projects. This is part of the build-up to the workshop I’m presenting at TAM 2012 in July, titled “The Future of Skepticism Online: Crowd-sourced Activism”. I hope many of you will join me for that.

Read on to see what you might have missed…

Blogging

Here were my blog posts this month.

Mentions and links on other blogs:

Podcasting & Video

I contributed segments to these episodes of Skepticality:

On other podcasts:

Social Media

I posted on Twitter:

  • 176 regular tweets, including:
    • 18 “What’s the harm in…?” stories
    • 31 Daily skeptic history facts
    • 42 retweets of other people
  • Plus 182 replies to other Twitter posts for a total of 358 tweets

Here are highlights, the tweets that were retweeted the most.

(10 retweets, 1 favorite)

(14 retweets, 6 favorites)

(20 retweets, 5 favorites)

(6 retweets, 6 favorites)

(7 retweets, 3 favorites)

(7 retweets, 3 favorites)

(17 retweets, 1 favorited)

(119 retweets, 9 favorites) Reached up to 197,000 users on Twitter, thanks to Phil.

(9 retweets, 2 favorites)

(13 retweets, 1 favorite)

(7 retweets, 4 favorites)

To get these as I post them, you should follow me on Twitter here.

Crowdsourcing Contributions

Here were my contributions to various projects this month:

I contributed 5 edits to Wikipedia.

I rated 5 sites on Web of Trust and left 1 new site scorecard comment.

I made 11 edits to the Skeptic History database. It now has 1423 items.

I created an event page for Skeptic’s Toolbox, added guests and added many coverage links to my Skepticism event guide on Lanyrd.

On to May, to be certain.

About Tim Farley
Focused on online misinformation, Tim Farley is a software engineer, computer security expert and scientific skeptic who created the site What's The Harm. He is a Past Fellow of the James Randi Educational Foundation.

2 Responses to Content Roundup for April 2012: Flowering

  1. sgerbic says:

    There is a “skeptic event season”?

    • Tim Farley says:

      Well, it seems like most of the major events happen between April and September, but maybe that’s just me struggling for a theme here. Heh.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,093 other followers