#TAM2012 Video: You Are the Future of Skepticism on the Internet

The James Randi Educational Foundation has now posted the official video of my Amazing Meeting 2012 talk online, here it is:

There are several resources here on this blog to go with this talk, you may want to open them in another window while you watch:

Thanks again to James Randi and the JREF for giving me this opportunity. And thanks Geo for a fantastic intro!

About Tim Farley
Focused on online misinformation, Tim Farley is a software engineer, computer security expert and scientific skeptic who created the site What's The Harm. He is a Past Fellow of the James Randi Educational Foundation.

15 Responses to #TAM2012 Video: You Are the Future of Skepticism on the Internet

  1. sgerbic says:

    Hey, I made it on this video. I’m the woohoo at the very end. Also I can hear my camera clicking there at the end too. A cameo appearance!

  2. sgerbic says:

    Just took some of Tim’s quotes and linked the video to his Wikipedia page. There is my 5 minutes of work done crowd-sourcing today.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Farley

    Remember anyone is welcome re-write the blurb I left to make it more readable, I would actually be pleased.

  3. This was one of my favorite TAM presentations! I’m glad the video is out so I can use it to recruit even more help.

  4. Pingback: #TAM2012 Plenary: You Are the Future of Skepticism on the Internet « Skeptical Software Tools

  5. Pingback: #TAM2012 You Are The Future Speech – Links and Tips « Skeptical Software Tools

  6. Pingback: Les Folies de Foi - Skepticality

  7. kethlak says:

    I was one of the people in the audience for this talk, and I remember when you said, “But Tim, I’m not a webmaster or I’m not a software developer, I don’t have the skills necessary to do those things!” my husband and I looked at each other, because I *am* a web developer and he’s a software developer, and it sounds like somebody somewhere might need our skills. Where are some places we can go to help out?

    • Tim Farley says:

      You know, I hadn’t thought about it before, but perhaps creating some sort of “skeptic service bureau” to connect folks with different skills to work on projects together might be a useful service…

  8. Pingback: Content Roundup for August 2012 – Dragon*Con « Skeptical Software Tools

  9. Pingback: #TAM2012 Video: Skeptic Crowdsourcing Workshop « Skeptical Software Tools

  10. Pingback: Should You Answer Aristotle? - Skepticality

  11. Pingback: The Ninjutsu of the Internet-Savvy Skeptic at #SkepTech | Skeptical Software Tools

  12. Pingback: Скептицизм и интернет - Энциклопедия заблуждений

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,069 other followers