Content Roundup: January 2012

January is time for year-end wrap-ups and I was responsible for a few, but it was also a time to re-learn lessons that we’ve learned before. One of my blog posts pointed this out in regards to Wikipedia traffic, and over on Twitter I again relearned the power of cultivating the attention of folks like Phil Plait (aka @BadAstronomer) whose retweets have great power and reach.

As for those year-end wrap-ups, aside from the one I wrote here at skeptools, I also did a year-end news review on Skepticality (which is becoming an annual tradition) and a summary of obituaries at JREF’s blog. Beyond that there there was plenty of activity on Twitter and elsewhere keeping me running.

If you were busy too and missed some of the action during the month, here’s a way to catch up. This is the monthly roundup – links to all the content I’ve been involved with in the last month. It includes this blog as well as the material I post on other blogs, my podcasting activities, my best posts on Twitter as well as key shout-outs or mentions elsewhere.

Read on to see what you might have missed!

Blogging

Here were my blog posts this month.

Mentions and follow-ups on other blogs:

Podcasting & Video

I contributed Skeptic History segments to these episodes of Skepticality:

Social Media

I posted on Twitter:

  • 156 regular tweets, including:
    • 21 “What’s the harm in…?” stories
    • 32 Skeptic History facts
  • Plus 125 replies to other Twitter posts for a total of 281 tweets

Here are highlights, the tweets that were retweeted the most.

(~16 retweets + 1 favorite)

(~22 retweets + 1 favorite)

(~12 retweets)

Some humor relating to my “day job” which is in information security:

(~15 retweets)

And fittingly so, my most popular post in quite a while, which did really well after @BadAstronomer retweeted it:

(122 retweets + 9 favorites)
Click that link and you can see that once Phil retweeted it and others followed, the net effect was that tweet was broadcast to 175,612 people. That’s a huge amplification over the 4,800 people who actually follow me.

Nobody likes Kentucky’s budget choices. This also got retweeted by @BadAstronomer and many people retweeted that one:

(28 retweets + 2 favorites: broadcast to 16,300 people)

(250 retweets: potentially seen by over 300,000 people!)

An obituary:

(10 retweets + 1 favorite)

A great use of “skeptical software tools” over in the UK:

(25 retweets + 3 favorites)

And yet again, @BadAstronomer is the multiplier:

(11 retweets + 2 favorites: 6,124 viewers)

(61 retweets + 1 favorite: 279,000+ viewers)

To get these as I post them, you should follow me on Twitter here.

Crowdsourcing Contributions

Here were my contributions to various projects this month:

I contributed 19 edits to Wikipedia.

I rated 3 sites on Web of Trust but left no site scorecard comments.

I made 6 edits to the Skeptic History database. It now has 1403 items.

On to February, which brings the very first Leap Day posting of Skeptic History! No, I’m not going to tell you what it is.