Content Roundup for March 2012: Spring Cleaning

Spring is arriving in my part of the world, so it is time for some spring cleaning. Some of that is literal, I spent some time cleaning up around the house.

But digital spring cleaning is a good habit too. One thing I’m doing is making a renewed effort to post more regularly at this blog. Cross your fingers, it starts this week.  Another was a format change and new title for my Skepticality podcast segment, which debuted last week.  Read on below to find out more about that if you haven’t heard it already.

Anyway, if you were busy during March and missed some of the action, here’s a way to catch up. Herein are links to the content I’ve been involved with in the last month. It includes this blog as well as the material I post on other blogs, my podcasting activities, my best posts on Twitter as well as key shout-outs or mentions elsewhere.

I’m also trying to document on a monthly basis what my contributions are to several skeptic-relevant crowdsourcing projects. Part of the reason for that is the workshop I’m presenting at TAM 2012 in July is titled “The Future of Skepticism Online: Crowd-sourced Activism”. I hope many of you will join me for that.

Read on to see what you might have missed…

Blogging

Here were my blog posts this month.

Podcasting & Video

I contributed segments to these episodes of Skepticality:

  • March 13: #178: You Are Not So Smart
  • March 27: #179: Dictionaries, Bugs & Space   BIG NEWS! The segment is now called Skepticism: Past and Future and contains a mix of both skeptic history items and ideas about skepticism’s future ripped from the headlines of this very blog.  Check it out!

Social Media

I posted on Twitter:

  • 148 regular tweets, including:
    • 24 “What’s the harm in…?” stories
    • 31 Daily skeptic history facts
    • 29 retweets of other people
  • Plus 162 replies to other Twitter posts for a total of 310 tweets

Here are highlights, the tweets that were retweeted the most.

(9 retweets + 1 favorite)

(27 retweets + 2 favorites)

(9 retweets)

(17 retweets + 3 favorites)

To get these as I post them, you should follow me on Twitter here.

Crowdsourcing Contributions

Here were my contributions to various projects this month:

I contributed 18 edits to Wikipedia.

I rated 2 sites on Web of Trust but left no new site scorecard comments.

I made 4 edits to the Skeptic History database. It now has 1410 items.

I created several event pages, added guests, and created a Skepticism guide on Lanyrd. (See blog post on same above).

On to April, fools!